Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea

Livre numérique

Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea

From Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins, this effervescent story introduces two sisters—Alix and Jools—and takes readers on an unforgettable journey to the beach.

In the style of the author’s acclaimed Nuts to You, this joyful celebration of sisters, family, and the ocean contains black-and-white illustrations throughout. Fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Raymie Nightingale and Rebecca Stead’s Liar and Spy will love this engaging family story.  

Alix and her sister, Jools, have never seen the ocean. When their parents pack them up for a week at the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home, but excited, too. At the beach, the girls make friends, go exploring, and have adventures both big and small. They pick periwinkles, spot crabs, and discover that the beach is full of endless possibilities. As the week comes to an end, Alix is surprised to find she doesn’t want to leave!

Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration. Features stunning pencil and ink drawings. A great read-aloud as well as a good choice for newly independent readers.